Washington Square Review, an award-winning journal of new fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, translations, and interviews, is published biannually by the students and faculty of the NYU Graduate Creative Writing Program.

recent acclaim:

  • David Leavitt’s story, “The David Party,” which originally appeared in Washington Square Review #40, was republished in Best American Nonrequired Reading 2018, edited by Sheila Heti.

  • Dustin M. Hoffman’s story, “Scraps on Fire,” which was published in issue #39, was listed in the “Other Distinguished Stories of 2017” section of Best American Short Stories 2018, edited by Roxane Gay.

  • Megan Tucker's debut story, "Candidates," from issue #40, won the 2018 PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers and appeared in the PEN America Best Debut Stories 2018, edited by Yuka Igarashi.

  • Amy Hempel's story, "The Chicane," which originally appeared in Washington Square Review #37, was featured in Best American Short Stories 2017, guest edited by Meg Wolitzer.

  • "The Lucky Lady" by Rebecca Schiff and "We the Grandchildren" by Loredo Lucas, both from issue #37, were listed in Best American Short Stories 2017 as "Other Distinguished Stories of 2016."  

PAST issues include work by:

Etel Adnan, Kaveh Akbar, John Ashbery, Dan Beachy-Quick, Zeina Hashem Beck, Joshua Beckman, Marie-Helene Bertino, Charles Bock, Anne Carson, Susan Choi, Martha Collins, Courtney Craggett, Mahmoud Darwish, Lydia Davis, E. L. Doctorow, Nguyen Do, Timothy Donnelly, Stephen Dunn, Thomas Sayers Ellis, Joshua Ferris, Rivka Galchen, Ross Gay, Eamon Grennan, Lauren Groff, Terrance Hayes, Amy Hempel, Yuri Herrera, Brenda Hillman, Edward Hirsch, Etgar Keret, David Kirby, Yusef Komunyakaa, Catherine Lacey, Ada Limón, Ben Lerner, Colum McCann, Shane McCrae, Jeffrey McDaniel, Joe Meno, Paul Muldoon, Carol Muske-Dukes, Eileen Myles, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Howard Norman, Naomi Shihab Nye, Chinelo Okparanta, Meghan O'Rourke, Helen Phillips, Tommy Pico, D. A. Powell, Brian Morton, Anne Marie Rooney, Evie Shockley, Charles Simic, Ruth Stone, Nguyen Trai, Deb Olin Unferth, Cesar Vallejo, G. C. Waldrep, Elizabeth Willis, John Yau, Jenny Xie, Javier Zamora, Rachel Zucker, and many more. 



EXECUTIVE EDITORS: Matthew Rohrer and Darin Strauss



FICTION EDITORS: Sonia Feigelson and Spencer Gaffney

ASSISTANT FICTION EDITORS: Quinn Martin, Claire Werkiser, and JinJin Xu

POETRY EDITORS: Hannah Hirsh and Mallory Imler Powell

ASSISTANT POETRY EDITORS:Bernard Ferguson and April Freely

WEB EDITOR: Katie Rejsek

ASSISTANT WEB EDITORS: Jaime Davis, Sarah Martin, James Quigley, and Janelle Tan

ART EDITOR: Elliott Case

INTERVIEWS EDITOR: Mary Elizabeth Dubois

ASSISTANT INTERVIEWS EDITORS: Kukuwa Ashun and Charis Caputo

TRANSLATIONS EDITORS: Dan Antoszyk and Silvina López Medin


BOOKS EDITOR: William Pepicelli

COPY EDITOR:  Sonja Bjelic



Before contacting us about submissions, please review our submission guidelines. If you still have questions, our editors would be happy to assist you via email.

Reach the editors at


Mailing Address

58 West 10th St. / New York, NY 10011

Keep In Touch

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram

Information for Distributors

We invite booksellers to order Washington Square Review from TNG (formerly Ingram Periodicals).